FCAAP Names Dr. Lisa Gwynn 2020-2022 President

Aug 13, 2020 | Press Releases

The Florida Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics (FCAAP) is proud to announce Lisa Gwynn, DO, MBA, FAAP, CPE has been voted President for the 2020-2022 term.

“I am so pleased for the opportunity to lead such a tremendous organization whose work has led to significant improvements in child health and has provided critical support to pediatricians throughout the state of Florida. I look forward to working with an amazing team whose steadfast dedication to advocating for kids is an inspiration to me,” said Dr. Gwynn.

Dr. Gwynn is Associate Professor of Clinical Pediatrics and Public Health Sciences at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine (UMMSOM) and serves as Medical Director for the Pediatric Mobile Clinic, a program that provides a medical home to uninsured children, as well as Program Director of the Dr. John T. Macdonald Foundation School Health Initiative, a school-based health clinic program located in 9 schools in Miami-Dade County. She also serves as Associate Division Chief of the Division of General Pediatrics at UMMSOM.

Dr. Gwynn currently serves as FCAAP’s Vice President, Chair of the Chapter’s School Health Task Force, and Chapter E-Cigarette Champion. Dr. Gwynn remains steadfast in serving her community, and is a passionate advocate for kids, especially those children who are most marginalized in our society.

“Dr. Gwynn is an amazing asset to the FCAAP. She is smart, insightful, and always willing to take on the next project. I am amazed at her organizational skills, positive attitude, and her calm in the face of any issue. She will be a fabulous president, and I look forward to working with her,” said current FCAAP President D. Paul Robinson, MD, FAAP.

“I would like to congratulate Dr. Lisa Gwynn and the Chapter for her election as the upcoming President of FCAAP. Dr. Gwynn brings to this position many of her skills and talents as a pediatrician who practiced in both private practice and in academics at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine. I believe that Dr. Gwynn’s knowledge, skills, and sound judgment will ensure a strong and a visionary leadership of FCAAP’s future endeavors to serve our FCAAP members. That includes facing challenges in providing optimal care for our children and also looking for opportunities to continue the growth of our Chapter,” said FCAAP Nominating Committee Chair Madeline Joseph, MD, FACEP, FAAP.

Results for additional 2020-2022 offices are below. Newly elected board members will be inducted Saturday, September 5, 2020 during the awards ceremony at FCAAP’s annual meeting, The Future of Pediatric Practice 2020 Online. Their terms begin September 6, 2020. Following the inductions, Dr. Robinson will assume the office of Immediate Past President.

Vice President: Toni Richards-Rowley, MD, FAAP
Secretary: Nicole Torres, MD, FAAP
Treasurer: Thresia Gambon, MD, MBA, MPH, FAAP
Region 2 Representative: Ayesha Mirza, MD, FAAP, FPIDS
Region 4 Representative: Judith Aronson-Ramos, MD, FAAP
General Pediatrician At Large Representative: Rachel Dawkins, MD, FAAP
Medical School Pediatric Department Chair Delegate: Mark Hudak, MD, FAAP

“As the FCAAP Nominating Committee Chair, I would like to congratulate all the winners of the 2020-2022 election. FCAAP is extremely fortunate to have a diverse, talented, and dedicated group of pediatricians to serve in these roles. Each one brings unique set of skills and perspectives that I believe will help the Chapter to continue to evolve to meet the many challenges that face pediatricians as they care for children in our state.” Dr. Joseph continued.

“We are very grateful that many committed members of FCAAP have stepped up to leadership roles in our Chapter even in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic. That by itself is a testimony of the nominees’ commitment and dedication to serve on the FCAAP Board to support pediatricians and pediatric specialists as the best qualified providers of pediatric healthcare,” Dr. Joseph concluded.

Additional information on all newly elected board members can be found here.

Click here to download a PDF of this announcement.


Through its more than 2,600 members, the Florida Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics promotes the health & welfare of Florida’s children and supports pediatricians & pediatric specialists as the best qualified providers of their healthcare. Learn more by visiting

Have a news inquiry or need assistance?

Contact Scott VanDeman, Communications Coordinator at 850-224-3939 ext. 1005.